this post was submitted on 28 May 2025
8 points (90.0% liked)

MTG

2184 readers
19 users here now

Magic: the Gathering discussion

General discussion, questions, and media related to Magic: the Gathering that doesn't fit within a more specific community. Our equivalent of /r/magicTCG!

Type [[Card name]] in your posts and comments and CardBot will reply with a link to the card! More info here.

founded 2 years ago
MODERATORS
 

OK, so weird rules question: how do you track commander combat damage for two commanders that each have partner and that meld with each other? When the melded commander does combat damage to a player, is that a third combat damage track, does it go towards the un-melded combat damage trackers, or does something else weird happen?

This is absolutely a strange rules question, since not a single card on Scryfall would seem to run into this scenario, but for Pride Commander, all commanders are given the partner keyword, so you can run into this case with commander partners like Fang, Fearless l'Cie and Vanille, Fearless l'Cie, both of which meld into Ragnarok, Divine Deliverance. Similarly, Gisela/Bruna.

Anyway, thanks for the help!

you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] [email protected] 2 points 1 week ago (1 children)

Not a judge, so take with a grain of salt, but I don't see why a creature can't be more than one player's commander at the same time. 903.3b would apply twice here - one for each commander that was part of the pair.

So basically, if my reading is correct, combat damage dealt by the melded creature would be treated as commander damage by both of its components. 8 damage from an attack would be 8 commander damage from each (16 commander damage total, but split between both commanders as 8 and 8).

[–] prodigalsorcerer 3 points 1 week ago (1 children)

Meld cards all have the restriction of "own and control", so while your scenario sounds fun, it's unfortunately not possible (yet).

It's text on the card, rather than a built in restriction, so in theory it could be possible in the future.

[–] [email protected] 1 points 1 week ago

This is correct - all meld cards that exist have this requirement. It does not require that in the CR though as far as I can tell, so a theoretical future card might not have that restriction.

Also, I guess if you rule 0'd in ante cards for some reason, then sure.