this post was submitted on 02 Sep 2023
390 points (99.2% liked)

196

16898 readers
970 users here now

Be sure to follow the rule before you head out.

Rule: You must post before you leave.

^other^ ^rules^

If you have any questions, feel free to contact us on our matrix channel.

founded 2 years ago
MODERATORS
 
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] [email protected] 2 points 1 year ago

It's definitely not easy and takes some research, but it's not impossible.

For example, carmine is used as a red dye and is made of small insects that are processed for the dye. Some sweets use these, baking ingredients can too. If you don't know that, you may end up supporting something non-vegan as a vegan.

It's these little things, "unknown" and obscure knowledge, that can get you if you're not well informed.