this post was submitted on 28 May 2025
8 points (90.0% liked)
MTG
2167 readers
27 users here now
Magic: the Gathering discussion
General discussion, questions, and media related to Magic: the Gathering that doesn't fit within a more specific community. Our equivalent of /r/magicTCG!
Type [[Card name]]
in your posts and comments and CardBot will reply with a link to the card! More info here.
founded 2 years ago
MODERATORS
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
view the rest of the comments
The closest I've been able to find to a resolution has been the Gatherer rulings on [[Gisela, the Broken Blade]]:
That just says that the melded card is a commander, though, and not what happens when the melded commander does combat damage. From the Comprehensive Rules, it seems to come down to what's meant by "the same commander":
A few other CRs would seem to shed light, but I'm still not quite sure of the resolution:
Not a judge, so take with a grain of salt, but I don't see why a creature can't be more than one player's commander at the same time. 903.3b would apply twice here - one for each commander that was part of the pair.
So basically, if my reading is correct, combat damage dealt by the melded creature would be treated as commander damage by both of its components. 8 damage from an attack would be 8 commander damage from each (16 commander damage total, but split between both commanders as 8 and 8).
Meld cards all have the restriction of "own and control", so while your scenario sounds fun, it's unfortunately not possible (yet).
It's text on the card, rather than a built in restriction, so in theory it could be possible in the future.
This is correct - all meld cards that exist have this requirement. It does not require that in the CR though as far as I can tell, so a theoretical future card might not have that restriction.
Also, I guess if you rule 0'd in ante cards for some reason, then sure.